Low carb bread

There’s this annoying social pressure to eat carbs. Because potatoes are full of vitamins,  aren’t they?! And rice is full of fibre. Or from time to time your friend just feels like eating something sweet. Also, this is tradition, we’ve been eating like that for ages!! How about we have some pasta tonight? And so on and on… There are moments when you can’t say no and moments when you’re too weak to say no.

Or the worst conversation possible – “I want to eat tasty food and be happy.” Yeah, I used to say the same thing and I hate myself for that. That’s not an excuse to indulge in crappy food that makes you fat. It’s only a good reason to choose your meals carefully. Now I want to be pretty and healthy. And by pretty I don’t mean anorexic model skinny. I mean strong and lean and looking gorgeous in that Karren Millen dress I found on sale and never got to wear because I started eating carbs again.

Since my meals have turned into something social, I have to be prepared, because the people around don’t seem to give a damn about low carb. The favourite pastime is pita and hummus so I’m looking for a bread recipe.

I found some interesting ideas on the T-nation forum and the peanut flour recipe seemed very appealing. I didn’t have any peanut flour, though, so I had to improvise. I am going to write down exactly what I did for future reference, but the recipe still requires some improvement.

  • 250 g quark/cream cheese
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 eggs + 1 egg white (I happened to have that lying in the fridge)
  • 1 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 2-3 tablespoons ground walnuts ( or as much as your hand can grab from the container)
  • 1 teaspoon flaxseed powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • salt

I mixed the quark (I used this brand because it doesn’t taste like cream cheese spread or thick yoghurt.) with the oil and added the eggs one by one. The mixture looked nice and smooth and this gave me hope. Then I added all the dry ingredients. I used a nonstick baking tin so I brushed it with a little bit of sunflower oil and added the dough. I baked it for 50 min at 160°C (fan oven).

It smelled great and looked really nice. I should’ve taken a photo as soon as I got it out of the oven because by the time I ran upstairs and grabbed the camera, the bread collapsed a bit.

IMG_9162

I was afraid to cut the first slice. It looked too nice to be true. The texture turned out a bit spongy and moist for a bread. It would be perfect for cake, though. A bit of xylitol and some blueberries could turn this into a real treat.

IMG_9177I’m definitely making this again. I would like to adjust the quantities and play with the consistency of the dough. The taste is very similar to bread and you can’t feel the cheese or the coconut.

The best part –  the carb lovers liked it too. Although my housemate ate it with condensed milk. 😐

One thought on “Low carb bread

  1. Pingback: The low-carb saga continues | TwoBlueberryMuffins

Leave a Reply

