I think I need bacon

Today is not my day. I woke up with a horrible back pain. Horrible as in… I couldn’t roll in bed kinda pain. Or I couldn’t stand properly. Or move my arms. Or wash my face over the sink. I knew this was coming. I was in pain yesterday, but it was the “I can’t really turn and look back” or “that thing may as well stay on the floor” kind of pain. The level I’ve reached today was surprising. A hot shower helped, to some extent. You’re not supposed to roll your lower back, but this case was borderline acceptable so I tried foam rolling the sore muscle again. Yesterday that made me feel better. Today… I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t hold the right position. I gave up and cycled to the gym wondering if it’s worth the trip.

I immediately started feeling better, even during the warm up. Once the blood was pumping through my muscles, the pain significantly diminished.  Never underestimate the power of training again!

Things went well until the last exercise – the barbell complex. This was a disaster. It turns out I can’t do bent over rows with 20 kg. I struggled to finish the 10 reps, did the power cleans and as I was preparing to do the overhead press my arms decided – no, that’s not going to happen. I tried to jump a bit and get the load off my chest, but there was no nerve firing in my arms, no muscle contracting. Dead! I couldn’t give up so easily, I still forced myself to do the exercise, but after 6 reps it was over. I wanted to cry. So I started screaming a bit. I skipped the remaining reps and went straight to squats. On the 2nd set I simply gave up right after the rows. I threw away the weight and sat down. I’ve never felt so angry and so hopeless in the gym before. Thus, I switched to the light bar and did the 3 sets with 18.5 kg. At least it was vaguely more than last time (17.5 kg). I’ll try 19 kg next time.

The deadlifts are still going well. I’m already dreaming about lifting 100 kg. I’m not quite there yet, but I’m definitely above 80 kg. I was tempted to skip the warm up and lift 50 kg from the very beginning (8 reps), but I haven’t done Romanian deadlifts in a while and I needed to remember them. So warm up is still 40 kg, but we’re getting there. 🙂

I tried to order mom’s protein today, but it seems that myprotein decided they don’t deliver after all. I called them again and they told something completely different this time. I hate their customer service. I’m not sure what I’ll do. I might get it on my address and then forward it home, if mom really wants to go through with this. This adds another failure on today’s list. By the time I figured out there’s no way I can order the stuff from other sources I was already pretty upset. So upset I bit into a fork. I will remember this day every time I look in a mirror.

What’s next, Murphy?

Leave a Reply

