Epic training

I’m on Phase 4. Whatever that means. I trust Matt knows what he’s doing. I don’t know the principles and criteria that guide him when choosing the exercises. All I understood was that it’s supposed to be more difficult. Yes, that is possible. And yes, I somehow completed the sets today.

I’ve had another “I can’t jump on the box!” moment. Lame. My brain might’ve been right, though. The extra weight I was carrying was a bit of a problem. Next time I’ll jump on the higher box, I must!

The weight for bench press is lower this week because I was failing on all the sets. I’d say is just right now. If I look at my progress, this hasn’t increased at all. I can definitely do more reps, though. I like this new schedule, with more than 5 reps. It feels like you’re slowly building up strength and pushing the limits. I’m optimistic about it. My arms hurt a lot in the past weeks. 😀

The best part was the deadlift. Band deadlift!! I’m adding this video to demonstrate the technique of stepping on the band. 😛 Most of the exercises I found online use some interesting equipment that we don’t really need. Please ignore the rest, not all the people in that video have good form.

I was able to lift 50 kg with bands and I’m a little bit amazed that I managed to do it. (It was actually written on my sheet!) This is nearly my bodyweight. It would’ve been exactly my body weight if I hadn’t eaten a kilo of dates last week.

Usually, the  deadlift is only difficult at the beginning, when you take the weight off the floor. The bands make it difficult all the way up. Locking was really a problem and I nearly fell over on the first reps. But I survived!! And loved that exercise!!! 😀

John was the epic one today. The barbell complex looked very difficult, but he didn’t give up. At the end he was covered in sweat and feeling pretty miserable. He’s taking that Greek God joke very seriously and I think he might get there by the end of the diet. Watch out, girls!

Worst bit, my workout didn’t end there. Any phase starts with the gruesome max reps split squats!!! Last time, 14 reps – 27.5 kg. This time, 15 reps on left leg (weak leg) and 14.5 on the right one with the same weight. Not much of an improvement. However, I still consider that the greatest achievement on split squats is the first rep. If you manage to do it, you’re set for the next 10 min or so. May God help you!

On my way home I stopped to grab a salad for lunch. It took me 5 min to lock the bike in front of the shop, although it was all set in place. I knocked over the nearby bike, straightened that, then my bike started sliding. With great effort I put my bike back into place. Then my handle bar cover slid off and my bike fell again. Then it took me ages to pull the lock off the rack. Then I dropped the keys, then one bit of the lock. At this point I was having troubles picking things off the floor and standing on my feet. I was holding onto the bike seat and laughing like a retard.

It wasn’t much prettier in the shop. You can’t really explain to the staff why you’re panting and grunting whilst picking up a 200g salad from the shelf. I started singing at a certain point, just so I’d sound more human. I can’t really sing. I hope I’m allowed back in the shop because it’s my main source of food at the moment.

Leave a Reply

