Status update

We’re changing workouts every two weeks now. I like the current format. Instead of resting we’re supposed to do all sorts of stretching and core stability exercises. A more elaborate description you can find here. Also, Matt is timing us, so we can’t be lazy. I think this  actually helps me lose weight. The scale has started to show me encouraging numbers.

At the moment I’m in terrible pain. I’m slowly improving the technique for the power cleans, which means I’m using my muscles properly, which means it hurts more afterwards. Also, it means that the bruise I have on my left collar bone is going to heal and I’ll have some on my shoulders instead.

Today I had an attempt to increase the height of the box for plyometrics and that was a disaster. At first I was really scared about it because I could only jump just above it and I know how painful it is to miss. So Matt put a plank under my feet which decreased the height difference with about 2 cm and I did a set without any problems. Then my brain/will/whatever just collapsed. I just couldn’t do it anymore. I struggled on the next set with the usual box, but that was it. On the last set my body just decided – no, this is not going to happen! I thought it was more of a mental block, but after jumping on a small box – which I was using for warmups at some point – I realised I was genuinely tired. I’m not sure what the problem is. I might not recover as good as I used to between workouts or I might get tired even faster during the exercise. Or maybe it has to do with the fact that I didn’t sleep well last night (only four hours – stupid, I know). Either way, this has to change because I really want to jump on that big box. It’s not even that big and I’m sure I can do it.

On a side note, I wish all my mornings would start like this:

Leave a Reply

