Steak – the extra mile

It’s been quiet around here simply because not much has happened since. I’m not cooking as much as I’d like to. I just get back home tired in the evening and decide to have emergency lunch the next day. Apparently, it’s not emergency lunch when you have it every day. Yesterday I reached the darkest corner of my cupboard and pulled out a can of sardines. That was the last straw. Something needed to be done! But I was just as tired and didn’t really feel like cooking. I asked Daniel what I should prepare hoping that his answer will motivate me. He said “STEAK!” There was no argument about it.

So, 10 min later, in the supermarket I was staring at all the meat and couldn’t decide. Chicken? Chicken liver? Fish? Steak? Financial issues helped me made the choice in the end. Finally, I found aged steak at a decent price, similar to the regular cuts (rather than 200% more) and my heart leaped with joy.

The package warned the average customer about the dark colour and the specific odour. I opened it and realised that’s the properĀ smell meat should have. I’ve been fooling myself for so long!

Now, don’t rush into things and throw this beauty in the pan. This needs to be grilled!

So next time you don’t know what to cook, make a little bit of effort. Do yourself a favour and grill a nice piece of beef. This was one of the most tender steaks I’ve had in ages. The only problem now… there’s no going back after this!

3 thoughts on “Steak – the extra mile

  1. Oh my… I could never eat that pinkish stuff. I didn’t know you like your steak the french way ( that’s raw in my book). I would have grilled it an extra half an hour at least.

    • It’s medium, not bloody. And it’s tasty. I guess you get used to it after a while. If you grill beef too much it becomes dry and chewy. I do prefer the oven version – well cooked and tender, but on the grill this is better.

Leave a Reply

