About pain

“You walk like you’ve shat yourself!” That’s what we hear from Matt from time to time after a workout. “I know what happened, but whoever sees you like that…” and then he laughs pleased with himself. And we laugh too, at least I do, because he’s incredibly right, but there’s nothing we can do about it.

When I first started training I thought the soreness will be acute and will have something to do with lactic acid and all those stories I’ve heard in biology class.  I really didn’t know what I signed up for. Oh, the pain of the first weeks!! Two days of not being able to get out of bed, sit on a chair or climb stairs properly. And just as you begin to recover, it’s time for another workout! At the time, I didn’t want to meet anybody, I didn’t want my housemates see me in that horrible state. I walked like an old lady and complained at every step. And held onto walls, mostly!

Now I recover much faster, but I constantly feel some sort of pain in my muscles. The protein shakes help a lot! Still, even after 8 hours of sleep, my legs feel tired and not very happy to start a new day cycling. Which makes me feel that I’m entitled to complain, sigh, groan and moan all the time. Also, I stretch and massage the sore spots as much as possible. I must be a funny sight during lunchtime. Or perhaps not. It’s been difficult in the past week, since people around me didn’t understand why I’m so miserable. Although I took a long break, I feel that I haven’t recovered completely.

In addition, I’ve been quite absent minded in the gym and managed to hurt myself. Two weeks ago I bruised my shinbone while doing plyometrics and this morning I “fixed” the other leg. Luckily, I’ve learnt my lesson and kept my balance, so this time it’s not as bad. I’ve been doing some other stupid things, however, out of pure fortune, I got away unharmed. I need to pay more attention to these things before it gets really serious.

I’m not sure why I’m writing all this. Perhaps its my inherent need to complain. Or maybe I just want to share this funny, dull,  and painful aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

