Halfway

Two weeks into the diet and I’m already feeling a bit sick and tired of it. I’ve had food yesterday, nice food. The photos are slightly blurry, I was too hungry to care about that. I had chicken with all the vegetables I could think of. The green beans and the peppers were surprisingly easy to cook – throw them in a pan with a bit of water and let the steam do the rest.

No worries, I did not eat all the food on that plate, only half of the meat and most of the vegetables. For dessert, we had apricots and raspberries. I have a thing for raspberries.

It’s becoming more and more obvious that my life after this diet is not going to be easy. I’m still quite tempted to try sweets and sandwiches. And muffins, oh, the blueberry muffins… What – I hope – will keep me going is the pure acknowledgement of the fact that indulging into these foods has brought me here. So, from now on:

No more chocolate, cakes, pain aux raisins, donuts and mini-muffins. Not only did I eat all of those without giving it any thought, but I also stuffed my face with the store bought version of them. These obviously had a lot more sugar, fat and preservatives than I actually needed. It would be a lie to say I will never touch any of these in my life. But I’ve decided to bake my own if the cravings are getting too serious and always choose a healthy recipe. I rely on my lack of time and enthusiasm to postpone such cooking sessions and I’ll share the results with my friends (so we can all be fat and happy). I know there’s only a small step between “I’ll have one, just this time!” and “I’d better finish this box before these cakes get stale.” so I must pay a lot of attention to this matter.

Choose the right serving size. I don’t trust those guidelines which start with: “Low carbs, low fat diet, eat as much as you want.” Maybe a tall, strong man can easily get away with some extra calories. I’m a little being, so it’s quite easy to double the amount of what I should be eating. Overeating has a great effect on me, any extra kilo on my body gets noticed. Also, cooking for one person turned out to be a pain. I always end up with more food than I need. Good food that I shouldn’t waste, right? This is going to be tricky at first, but I’ll make sure to pack my lunch and snacks in smaller containers. Spreading the food in several small meals should also help. I have a limited space available in the freezer, but I’ll do my best to use it wisely.

Less going out. Eating out has definitely become a habit in the past year and, unfortunately, this added to my bad list. You never have control over what’s in your plate. The servings are usually huge. There’s always some extra sugar and starch in that delicious sauce or in that steak glaze. The salad dressing adds lots of calories and the croutons…God knows what they’re made of. This is going to be tricky for me. I can’t say no to a dinner out, I would miss the social part. I already have favourite places and nice memories related to various restaurants. I can’t recreate all the dishes, the exotic cuisine of different countries. But I’m not ordering Domino’s pizza again, and I’ll stay away from Subway. I won’t rush into any restaurant every time we’re going out shopping or watching a movie at the cinema. A trip to the market and some tasty healthy cooking seems a better deal. Fortunately, my friends are determined to eat healthier as well and this will make a tremendous difference.

Carefully plan my snacks. When I realised I was getting fat and decided to take some action, I started cooking my own healthy food and pack my lunch everyday for work. However, most of the time I neglected that 4pm tea break when hunger was settling in and good food was unavailable. So I pretty much ended up buying disgustingly sweet fruit cakes from the cafe. I plan to turn these snacks into small meals. Some cottage cheese and a banana, some fruit and nuts, maybe a ham&cheese salad, I’m not sure yet, but something needs to be done.

Sleep well. Right now my sleep is chaotic so I’d better clean up my schedule fast, otherwise I will end up eating late at night. Calories make up for the lack of sleep, but they also get stocked in that round belly. And overestimating the amount of food you need when tired is such an easy thing to do!

We all know the rules: no sweets, no bread, no pasta. We all break them. I doubt I will become that purist who never again touches grains or sugar. I will live as one for a while, though, and see how things unfold from that point. I will probably make new mistakes. Hopefully, I won’t get back to the old ones. This is not going to be easy. It shouldn’t be.

Leave a Reply

